to Mr Monkey's home page to the sitemap

Mr Monkey's List of Regions

The regions used here are fairly closely based on those used by the National Trust, English Heritage and the English tourist board. It would have been really nice if all three organisations had all agreed, but they didn't.

The tourist people didn't want Wiltshire to be in the South West (probably to make Stonehenge look closer to London) and weren't totally sure if Cumbria was part of the North West or an independent region of its very own.

English Heritage claim parts of Lincolnshire are really in Yorkshire; this is presumably a carry over from the creation of the Humberside local authority, which controled parts of Yorkshire and Lincolnshire, until it was disbanded.

Foreign Parts
Foreign parts are, surprisingly enough, anywhere outside the United Kingdom.

London covers everywhere encompassed by the M25 orbital motorway.

North East
Northumberland, Durham, Tyne and Wear and Teesside.

North West
Cheshire, Cumbria, Lancashire, Merseyside, Greater Manchester.

North Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, South Yorkshire and the East Riding of Yorkshire.

East Midlands
Derbyshire, Lincolnshire, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland.

West Midlands
Herefordshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands, Worcestershire.

East of England
Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Suffolk.

South East
Berkshire, Hampshire, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, East Sussex, West Sussex, Isle of Wight.

South West
Bristol, Cornwall, Devon, Dorset, Gloucestershire, Isles of Scilly, Somerset, Wiltshire.

Biggish country at the top of Britain.

Smallish country on the left hand side of Britain.

Northern Ireland
Smaller part of largeish island to the left of the British mainland.

Return to Mr Monkey's Trips

Copyright Rik Shepherd and Mr Monkey. This page last modified 21 October 2004